Ignite Me – Review

Ignite_Me

Title – Ignite Me

Author – Tahereh Mafi

Publisher – Harper

Pages- 421 (paperback)

Published –February 4th 2014

Series – Shatter Me (3/6, Uncompleted)

 

25 July 2017

 

“Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.
No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.” 

 

This book honestly blew me away.

I’d just like to say that I read it before the announcement that there will be more books in the series, and as my main issue with the story was that the ending didn’t feel like an ending, I don’t really have any issues with it now!

We jump straight into the story just hours after the events in Unravel Me occur. I think that this really helps the three books blend into one coherent story, I sort of hate large time gaps in series as it can be confusing and make the narrative feel stilted.

The thing that Mafi deals with the best over these first three books is Juliette’s character development. She is hardly recognisable from the beginning of Shatter Me by the end of Ignite Me, in the best way possible. Where before she was frail and weak, she is now confident and strong. Her relationships change with the people around her so organically as she develops and it’s just a joy to see unfold! Juliette now seems to make more intelligent and logical decisions and is less of an aberration to her group. By the end of the novel, I really felt like her scrappy band of heroes could save the country.

As always, the characters are great. I love the twins and James and Kenji. The animosity between Warner and Adam is also hilariously awkward, only becoming even more tense after the secret about the two is revealed.

I feel like at this point in what we now know to be a six book series, we have everyone we need for the story to develop, but I am still excited for new characters that we may find along the journey!

All in all, a great instalment to a series that I can’t wait to continue reading.

star_ratings5

Buy on Amazon
Ignite Me (Shatter Me)

 

P.S. HURRY UP MARCH 6TH 2018!!!

3 thoughts on “Ignite Me – Review

  1. tanazmasaba says:

    I agree with everything you said in this review! Juliette’s character arc was so beautiful. I love watching damsels in distress become their own knight in shining armor as much as I love the tough I-slay-my-own-dragon girls. The transition from believing you are weak to realizing you can be strong if you choose to–that’s what Tahereh Mafi portrayed so beautifully here.

    Yes I do agree the ending felt…off. I mean the whole series kind of feels like a prequel to Juliette’s story. Her story BEGINS after the end of Ignite Me so I am really glad she is going to continue the series, no matter what other readers might say about Mafi milking the proverbial cow. That’s not what she’s doing at all!

    Like

    • bettybookreviews says:

      Haha Ik! She has been saying since Shatter Me was released that she is not sure how many books will be in the series.

      Her books are personal and emotional, I don’t think nay sayers understand how hard it is to write from the heart like that.

      Ty so much for reading! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tanazmasaba says:

    It’s a hit or miss kind of book. You’ll either love it or you’ll hate it. Some of the hate it got was more because it’s by a WOC than anything else (you can easily tell when you read their reviews).

    I heard there will be THREE MORE BOOKS! Starting with “Restore Me”. And it will have dual POVs of Juliette and Warner!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

